A touching memoir about creative grieving

      and sudden death.  A widow's unique spiritual journey. 

           "Shades of Grief is a journey through the deepest, darkest, most painful emotions you can imagine after a loved one dies. Anyone who is grieving can relate to the heartache Susan experiences. But wait, slowly, very slowly, the reader is shown a small spark of light, just enough light to make life worth living. Susan follows that light which becomes brighter and brighter, and at the end of the light she finds hope, love and even happiness."


                                                                                                                                                   Janet Roberts 
                                                                                                                            Executive Director Centering Corporation

                                                                                                                                          and Grief Digest Magazine

Shades of Grief, a Memoir, cover


     Shades of Grief is  a memoir recounting the author's  unique personal odyssey in the aftermath of  an ill-fated plane crash that killed the author's husband, the pilot, and three of his closest friends.


     Adrift in grief, and without faith in the “eternal hereafter,” Susan's spiritual journey lead  her through various shades of darkness and finally into a light of understanding.


      Along the way she listened to Buddhist monks chant to the deity Quan Yin, traveled to historic battlefields, listened in isolation for the binary beat, visited psychics and came to wear the garb of the Crone.


       These were a few of the many experiences on her pilgrimage through the heart of sorrow on a path  of discovery where she eventually found healing and peace.

Susan L. Williams


February 5,  2018



of Grief

          "Grief" is a five-letter word that defies definition even as it exemplifies all that it means to be human. Loss is universal. How we cope, change, learn from, and are transformed by our loss becomes our gift to the world. "Shades of Grief" is a brilliant journey through the heart-opening complexities of grief. It teaches, comforts, and illuminates through powerful and elegant writing that leads us forward page-by-page through an essential gift of a book.  "Shades of Grief" takes us into the depths of loss and delivers us to shore with the courage and strength to love even more deeply.
                                                                                                                                                              Janet Thomas

                                                                                            Author of "Day Breaks Over Dharamsala--A Memoir of Life Lost and Found

                                                                                                                                                     and "The Battle in Seattle".

a memoir

        "With a poignant voice and at times humorous outlook Susan Williams shares her journey as she attempts to come to grips with one of life’s greatest mysteries."      

                                                                                                The Northwest Literary Review     

Read an excerpt from Shades of Grief, "The Crone and I", Grief Digest Magazine -   https://centering.org/magazine-articles/article-library.html

on this website,  & local bookstores